## Honour Roll Bathurst Cycling Club Life Membership

Research is ongoing on the Club's History.

## **Summary List**

Year	Name
1937	Mr Arch Ball
1946	Mr Barry Hutchin
1946	Mrs Barbara Hutchin
1952	Clarrie Pearce
1952	Dave Brooks
1953	Fr Leo Grant
1969	Ern Finnery
1969	Jack McKay
1975	Harry Winslett
1975	Harold Buttsworth
1979	Buddy Burke
1979	Marion Burke
2011	Tony Hogan
2011	Elaine Ryan
2013	Mark Windsor
2016	Rosemary Hastings
2016	Toireasa Gallagher
2016	Geoff Ryan
2016	lan Hill
2018	Graham Stait

## **Life Member Stories**

- 1937 Mr Arch Ball Mr Ball served as the Club's Secretary or Treasurer (often both) for around a decade in the 1930s and the 1940s leading up to WW2.
- 1946 Mr Barry Hutchin Barry took on the tough assignment to keep the cycling club going through the second World War period, working in many roles including Secretary, Handicapper and starter. He was forced to retire from his positions with the cycling club in 1946 from a hospital bed where he was being treated for a long-term leg injury.
- 1946 Mrs B Hutchin Mr & Mrs Hutchin were a great team, and it is documented that together they virtually ran Bathurst cycling by themselves through the World War Two period. Mrs Hutchin the long-time club Treasurer in the 1940s.
- 1952 Clarrie Pearce Clarrie put in many hours in the Bathurst Cycling club after WW2. He worked as the Club Commissaire / Referee and the Handicapper from 1946-1955.
- 1952 Dave Brooks The Brooks Family are legendary in Bathurst Cycling with Dave Brooks referred to as the Father of Cycling in Bathurst around WW2. He was an excellent cyclist in the 1920s and worked as an official with the club from 1929 through to 1963 in many positions (such as Vice President, Treasurer, Handicapper).

1953 - Fr Leo Grant – Father Grant is acknowledged as a pillar of the Bathurst Community. In cycling he was the second longest serving president of the Bathurst Cycling Club putting in 7 years in the President's role starting 1948/49.

1969 - Ern Finnery - was a very hard-working and respected Bathurst Club official in the late 1960s. Ern served for half a decade in the Bathurst Cycling Clubs Secretary Role.

1969 - Jack McKay – Jack is a true legend of Bathurst Cycling, holding positions in the club from the early 1940s through to 1980s. His major legacy was his work as the club Publicity Officer, but he held several positions in the club over the years including Club President.

1975 - Harry Winslett - was considered a wonderful promoter who introduced a series of initiatives to breathe new life into Bathurst cycling while he was president (1968 – 1971). He and his brother were both cyclists with the club and besides his stint in the president's position, Harry (Buddy) Winslett also served as Vice President of the Cycling Club in 1947 to 1949.

1975 - Harold Buttsworth - a top Bathurst Cycling representative and Club official, young Harold Buttsworth took on the Assistant Secretary Job in 1947- 48 before heading to Melbourne to chase his cycling dreams. On his return to Bathurst, he took on the Secretary job for a number of years starting 1958. In 1965 Harold worked as the Club's Handicapper, which he would again take on in the early 1970s, working as Handicapper for around half a decade. He would be the club handicapper again in 1995 before becoming the Club president in 1996.

1979 - Buddy Burke - A gifted local sportsman who came to cycling later in his sporting career, working as a high-profile Club President and then the Secretary throughout the 1970s. He again worked as president for a couple of years in the 1980s before taking on roles as the Handicapper and Publicity Officer.

1979 - Marion Burke – Another gifted local sportswoman who was part of a very solid and stable management base in the 1970s. Marion starting out as the clubs Secretary in 1972 before finishing off the decade as the club Treasurer.



2011 - Tony Hogan - Part of a long-term club executive group that looked over a period of record numbers in club events. Tony started out as the Club Captain 1997 before doing a full decade as the club Treasurer (2000-2010). He then did a term as the club handicapper.



2011 - Elaine Ryan – Elaine's services to the Bathurst Cycling Club have been amazing, with a record breaking two decades in the club's Secretary role from 2000 – 2019. Add to that Elaine's work as Treasurer in the 1990's and three terms as Secretary in the 1980's. Elaine has been awarded a national Meritorious Medal for her work in areas such as the women's Commission and is still a commissaire today.



2013 – Mark Windsor – Mark's unpreceded term as Club President started in 2002 and continued to 2012. Prior to that he held a number of positions, starting as club coach in 1992 and also serving as the club's Publicity Officer and Historian, roles he continues to work-in today. During his time, he has also served on the Club's Committee and has been Handicapper, he was the clubs state delegate for many years. Mark was also the initial Bathurst Bike Park coordinator and served on the BBP Inc board. Since 2021 Mark Windsor has been the Bathurst Cycling Club's E Cycling Team Manager.



2016 - Rosemary Hastings - In the 1990's Rosemary was considered part of the club junior development program, with a number of future international level riders having their first senior club race start alongside Rosemary. In 2003 she officially joined the Clubs executive team as Vice President and held that position till 2012. Since then, she has served on the Club's General & Ordinary Committee, specifically in Road Administration working on the duty officer roster.



2016 - Toireasa Gallagher - Toireasa Gallagher (nee Ryan) is believed to be the first female President of Bathurst Cycling Club, serving in the role from 2012 to 2014. However, prior to that Toireasa had been the Bathurst Club Captain for over half a decade (2003-2008), and also worked on the club committee and as Assistant Secretary (2009-2011). In more recent times Toireasa not only continues to work on the Club executive as the Clubs Junior Coordinator but also assists with general duties such as Canteen Coordinator and function management.



2016 - Geoff Ryan – Geoff is renowned as one of Bathurst Cycling Club most dedicated workers. Although the records formally suggest he has worked on the clubs committee since 1992 to the present day, the truth is he has been donating his time since the 1960's at club working bees and fundraisers. Geoff has also been the club's Property officer and Club Captain. Importantly Geoff Ryan was the club's first appointed Junior development officer in the 1990's and regularly held coaching positions.



2016 - Ian Hill - Ian is a long-time member of the Bathurst Cycling Club committee and has spent many hours working behind the scenes on event infrastructure and club promotion including doing the artwork for the club's logo. Ian Hill formally joined the club committee in 2005 through to 2012, but has always made himself available for race day control and organisation.



2018 - Graham Stait – Staity was a very popular member of the cycling club community for more than half a century. Graham Stait started riding with the Bathurst Club in the early 1970's and rode with the club till his death in 2021, representing the club at many title events.